Home TopicEvents Winners announced at first online AEO Excellence Awards ceremony

Winners announced at first online AEO Excellence Awards ceremony

by Olivia Powell

The Association of Event Organisers (AEO) Excellence Awards has announced the winners and finalists of its first ever digital awards ceremony, which took place on 4 December.

The event saw hundreds of attendees tune in to see 25 awards presented by Dara Ó Briain, including Outstanding Contribution to the Industry, won by Simon Kimble of Clarion Events.

Other awards included: Unsung Hero, won by Barry Maré if CloserStill; Best Conference won by Housing2019 by Ocean Media Group; and Best Event Launch won by AntwerpXL by Easyfairs.

Chris Skeith (pictured), host of the awards and chief executive of AEO, said: “We felt that allowing the finalists to come together in one place was an important part of maintaining the excitement and recognition winners have enjoyed in previous years. It’s a truly special moment and one that deserves to be celebrated in good company.

“Given the challenging year we’ve all had, we were pleased to see the industry welcome the Awards, as something positive and a little lighter for 2020. We also couldn’t have done it without the continued support from our judges, sponsors and partners so huge thanks go to them.

“While having an anchor date to work towards for the event was important this year, we look forward to seeing you all in person next year on our journey to recovery.”

AEO said it is “looking forward to once again honouring industry excellence next year alongside the company’s centenary celebrations”.

For more information about the awards ceremony and the winners, click here.

Related Articles